Day in the life of a training camp athlete

I arrived in St. Kitts for a national sprint/ hurdle warm weather training camp a couple days of go. The recent fundraising campaign I started was to fund this and other great opportunities that are arising as I grow as an athlete. I thought I would share what a typical day in the life of a training camp athlete is to those who are supporting me on my training adventures.

7:45am: Wake-up call! I start out the morning out by waking up and getting ready for the long workout ahead. I made a big bowl of oatmeal mixed with eggs white, fruit, and nuts. I load up on sunscreen and head out the door to practice.

9:00am-2:00pm-ish: Workout! The workout changes daily but we typically spent 5 hours out on the track. Today I had hydration testing so I had to weigh myself before and after the workout as well as everything I took in and out of my body. I am looking forward to getting the results back tomorrow. Our warm-up takes approximately an hour. Most people find it crazy our track warmup takes as long as most peoples workouts. Today I had speed endurance and sled pulls which took up the bulk of my time at the track. Afterwards I had a few strength exercises and took an ice bath to recover for tomorrows workout.

2:30pm: Lunch Time! Grocery shopping was extremely expensive with a small selection so I have to get creative in making meals that are healthy and of course taste good!

3:00pm- 6:00pm: Time to Relax! It is important not to over do it with activities and rest up and recover from the days workout so you can work hard again the next day. So far I have spent my time reading by the ocean, catching up on work back home, and napping.

6:30pm: Dinner! I like to eat a balanced meal of protein, carbs, and veggies. Todays dinner consisted of fish, asparagus, and quinoa.

7:00pm-10:00pm: More down time. I use this time to try and keep in touch with my friends and family back home and maybe catch up on some TV shows before bed to wind down for the evening.

10:00pm: Bedtime! Tomorrow will be another hard day!

So now you know what it takes to be an athlete in training for the olympics. When people heard I was going to St. Kitts everyone was so jealous because I get to go on another trip.  What they don’t often realize is that it is more hard work and downtime then exploring and getting to do touristy fun things. However, I can’t complain about the weather and appreciate the opportunity 😉

IMG_2554

 

One thought on “Day in the life of a training camp athlete

Leave a Reply

