#throwbackthursday

 #tbt also known as “throw back thursday” is a popular social media trend. Instead of posting a photo from the past, I would like to throw back to where I was exactly one year ago from today. Instead of hanging out in my hotel room anxiously awaiting the 2013 CIS championships, I was here in Edmonton, but only as a spectator cheering on my younger brother and teammates. I had not made the championships in my individuals events and had to pull out of the relay because of a minor back injury. Last year was my first indoor season coming back from a long 2 year struggle. For those of you who don’t know I had a major set back in track which started out with 3 undiagnosed stress fractures that resulted in surgery. Post surgery, I kept on having more complications so I ended up taking a semester off and decided to travel. I enjoyed my time travelling but I missed the challenge of training to compete in the sport that I love.

Last indoor season was tough for me. I was happy to be running again but my results were not where they were post injury. I did not have the strength, fitness, or desire I once had. I had lost my confidence and questioned if I would ever run fast again. The hope of getting a new PB didn’t even exist in my mind. However come spring, I put my disappointment aside and decided it was time to make a change. This past year I have been training harder than ever under a completely new program. Having a whole indoor season of injury free (ish), consistent training has not only gotten me back to where I was post injury, I am now getting PB’s in almost every meet! I have regained a positive mind set and am very confident going into the 2014 CIS Championships ranked #1 in the 60mH and #3 in the 60m. I am also a member of the 4x400m relay.

No matter the result of this weekend, I am very proud of myself with the progress I have made this past year and it is just the beginning.

Here is the Huskie preview of this weekend:

http://huskies.usask.ca/news/2014/March/2014-03-05-tf/index.php

Here are the live results:

http://www.ellistrack.ca/CIS/LiveResults/

Live Feed:

http://www.trackie.com/track-and-field/Articles/2014-cis-indoor-track-field-championships-live-feed-prediction-contest/11981/

Leave a Reply

