Good Start

I opened up my 2014 Indoor track and field season this past weekend at the Golden Bear Open in Edmonton. After almost three years of dealing with injury and trying to get back to the level I was at pre-injury, I am happy to say I am not only back, but running faster than ever. I started out the weekend running a personal best and winning the 60m hurdle prelims in a time of 8.48. In the final I exceeded this time running 8.41. Not only did I run a personal best, but I also captured the 8.60 CIS standard. I am now guaranteed a spot in the National Championships in Edmonton this March. My time of 8.41 currently ranks me number 1 in both the CIS and Canadian rankings.

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 9.25.02 AM

The next day I lined up against 35 other girls at the 60m starting line. In the preliminaries I crossed the line in a time of 7.71 qualifying me for the A final. In the final I placed second in a time of 7.64. The 60m did not go as well as I  had hoped, as I am having troubles transitioning between the hurdle and sprint starts. However I can’t complain with the times as it was only my first couple races of the season. I know what I can improve on and work on it in preparation for my next meet.

1558461_10152142671607453_944955702_n

My next competition will be the Knights of Columbus Invitational on Saturday, February. 1st at home in Saskatoon. I will be running both the 60mH and 60m against other invitational athletes coming in from Canada and the States. I will also be featured on CTV news with Mickey Grimes (gold medalist in the 4x100m relay at worlds) next Thursday. More details to come. I am looking forward to this upcoming season both indoors and outdoors. I am more determined than ever to work hard every day to pursue my dreams. I have a feeling it is going to be a good year! 🙂

1557382_439763899484445_1855782169_o

One thought on “Good Start

Leave a Reply

