Thankful

Thanksgiving is a time for people to spend with their friends and family. As much as I am looking forward to stuffing my face with turkey and pumpkin pie I would first like to give thanks for a good harvest and reflect on the good fortunes i have experienced this past year. I am extremely thankful for all of the opportunities and experiences I have gained throughout my years running track. Here are the top reasons I am thankful for my life in track:

1. I am thankful for my teammates and friends I have made throughout the years. Some of my greatest friendships have formed through track. I train with a great group of passionate people who are fun to be around and are always there for support. I have also met so many awesome people across the province, country, and continent that I still keep in close contact.

2. I am thankful for the opportunity to express myself and achieve individual excellence. Running is a big part of who I am. It is very rewarding to see how far you can push your body to its limits and see how hard work pays off. There is nothing better than accomplishing the goals that you set for yourself.

3. I am thankful for the success I have had. Its always fun to win a race but  being able to represent my province and country in national and international meets is one of the best feelings. Since track is such a individual sport being able to be part of a team with other talented athletes promotes a good atmosphere to be in. As teammates we are always there to cheer each other on and support each others successes . Team Sask is always one of the most spirited teams and always fun to be around.

4. I am thankful for the opportunities I have had to travel in track. Because of track I have been able to travel to many places I would have never otherwise traveled to. Competition and training camps has allowed to me travel all over Canada, the US, and even internationally. My goal is to start competing at a higher level of competition which will bring on even more travel opportunities. I love being able to see the world around me.

5. I am thankful for my parents, friends, and family that have supported me along the way. Track is full of ups and downs and is not only hard physically but also emotionally. It is always nice to have someone there to talk to or comfort you after while recovering from an injury or having someone to celebrate with after a big race.  I am especially thankful for my mom who has been there supporting me at almost every meet I have ever competed in, who dedicates hours of her time towards helping out with the track club, and who will give up anything to help me achieve my goals.

6. I am thankful for the opportunity to coach. I love being able to be a role model and share my knowledge and what I am passionate about with young developing athletes. I like working with kids and even though they can sometimes be crazy they are always fun to be around.

7. I am thankful for the difficult times. This might seem like a weird thing to be thankful for. No athlete likes when things don’t go as planned but when times are tough I am able to grow as a person as well as an athlete. Challenges enable to you build strength and character and you can always learn valuable lessons from the mistakes you make. The quote “You don’t know what you got till its gone” is true from my experience in track. I have learned never to take anything even in track for granted. Being injured and almost losing the sport I love made me realize how much the sport means to me. My injury has made me a tougher person. There were times when I felt like giving up but I would always push through those thoughts and today I have more motivation  than ever to reach my goals.

8. I am thankful for my coaches. My coaches are always there for me whether they are encouraging me through a tough workout or creating a plan to reach my goals. Most of all they believe in me. Today my coach told me in the middle of practice that I am going to break the 60m and 60mH Huskie records this year. Knowing that those around me believe in me helps build my self confidence which puts me one step closer in achieving my goals.

9. I am thankful for my support team. I have many professionals working along my side to help me achieve my goals. I am thankful for having access to one of team Canada’s olympic massage therapists in helping with my recovery. I am thankful for my trainer who not only creates my weight program but is always inspiring me to achieve greater things. He told me the other week that in order to achieve my goals I must be able to express them with those around me. That is one of the reasons why I created my blog; to share my goals, thoughts, experiences, progress, new, and results of the sport I love.

10. I am thankful for being healthy and looking forward to this coming track season.

I hope you will enjoy my blog as I am looking forward to writing it. Have a happy Thanksgiving 🙂

T6aCZMtOy_

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

